Manchester City Council

Schools & education School holidays and term dates

    There is 'Allsorts' to do this summer for young people across Manchester - try a different activity or learn a new skill.

    Most Manchester schools have the same holiday dates. But some voluntary-aided, foundation, or academy schools may differ. If in doubt, contact the individual school.

      School holidays 2016/17

      School opens: Thursday 1 September 2016

      Half term holiday

      School closes: Friday 21 October 2016

      School opens: Monday 31 October 2016

      Christmas holiday

      School closes: Friday 23 December 2016

      School opens:  Monday 9 January 2017

      Half term holiday

      School closes: Friday 17 February 2017

      School opens:  Monday 27 February 2017

      Easter holiday

      School closes: Friday 31 March 2017

      School opens:  Tuesday 18 April 2017

      Bank holiday: School closes Monday 1 May 2017 

      Half term holiday

      School closes: Friday 26 May 2017

      School opens:  Monday 5 June 2017

      Summer holiday

      School closes: Friday 21 July 2017

      School holidays 2017/18

      School opens: Monday 4 September 2017

      Half term holiday

      School closes: Friday 20 October 2017

      School opens: Monday 30 October 2017

      Christmas holiday

      School closes: Wednesday 20 December 2017

      School opens:  Tuesday 2 January 2018

      Half term holiday

      School closes: Friday 16 February 2018

      School opens:  Monday 26 February 2018

      Easter holiday

      School closes: Thursday 29 March 2018

      School opens:  Monday 16 April 2018

      Bank holiday: School closes Monday 7 May 2018

      Half term holiday

      School closes: Friday 25 May 2018

      School opens:  Monday 4 June 2018

      Summer holiday

      School closes: Friday 20 July 2018

      Was this information helpful?

      Was this page helpful?